Proud to be an American!

Mike just told me about his father’s swearing in ceremony for becoming a U.S. citizen.  He said at the end of the ceremony they give everyone little flags to sway and they play I’m Proud to Be an American while showing a slide show of pictures of lakes and corn fields.  I can’t tell you how hard we both laughed just now. 

Of all the songs they could play!!!  Of all the things they could do!!

If you need a refresher of the song, see below.  I hope I’m not insulting anyone’s love for this song.  There’s just so many better options – Ray Charles, for instance.  And the whole thing sounds just a tad bit degrading for so much hard work. 

If tomorrow all the things were gone,
I’d worked for all my life.
And I had to start again,
with just my children and my wife.

I’d thank my lucky stars,
to be livin here today.
‘ Cause the flag still stands for freedom,
and they can’t take that away.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RINqibpWOzQ

Leave a Reply

