Fall Films

So, there’s some fun things happening in the world of film.  Here’s a list of what I’m excited about.

1. Where the Wild Things Are – the heart-stirring book from the 60’s has been adapted into a film.  I am partly nervous that the film will be too dark and not do the book justice.  But then- I am also thrilled to see it – Spike Jonze is the Director – which is such an interesting/weird choice.   Jonze is known for a lot of things – Being John Malcovich, Apaptation – both pretty dark.  But also, he did some of the Beastie Boys music videos!  Shout out!  But what’s really exciting about Where the Wild Things Are is that Dave Eggers did the screen play.  Eggers has been referenced before on this blog.  Love him.  

2.  Amelia – So, I’m not the hugest fan of Hilary Swank – but I really like Mira Nair, the director.  She made Salaam Bombay! which is one of the most brilliant, terrifying, painful films about poverty, specifically how poverty affects children.  So I’m interested in how she tells the story of Amelia Earhart.  From what I’ve read, Earhart was a fascinating figure – really modern for her times.  Nair has a great way of showcasing the strength of women – so I’m excited to see what she does with this.

3. Fantastic Mr. Fox by Oh My Goodness, Wes Anderson.  My favorite film is The Darjeeling Limited (by Anderson).  I can watch it over and over again.  Every grey thing he touches turns to color and explodes and those reoccurring themes of his – parental abandonment, sibling rivalries, forbidden love – don’t they just slay you?  What’s great about this feature – beside that it’s animated and Roald Dahl book-  is that it has Bill Murray and Owen Wilson and Meryl Streep and Jason Schwartzman.  Amazing.  Mostly because of Bill Murray.  Oh Bill Murray.

4. Bright Star:  A period piece about the poet John Keats.  Sound boring?  I think not!  It looks heartbreaking and what’s not to love about a poor poet and again, a forbidden love?  Watch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7IwhVQa8Uk 

Of coure there’s New Moon, cough, I can hardly wait .  Oh vampires.  And in the spring Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland with his boy, Johnny Depp.  So freaky and fun.  There’s more I should write of but I can’t find my list any longer – so we’ll keep it at that.  To movies!

3 responses

Leave a Reply

