Monday feels like…

Orange Sky by Alexi Murdoch (who by the way, can probably be my boyfriend if he wants).

alexi

When I am alone
When I’ve thrown off the weight of this crazy stone
When I’ve lost all care for the things I own
That’s when I miss you, that’s when I miss you, that’s when I miss you
You who are my home
You who are my home
And here is what I know now
Here is what I know now
Goes like this..
In your love, my salvation lies

And also it feels a bit like Paul Simon singing Rene and Georgette Magritte with their Dog After the War.  Which I liked instantly the first I heard it, then reading more found out it’s a montage of 50’s style music – the kind of lover’s rock n’ roll that first made Simon want to make music.  I love 50’s styling -musically speaking –  the doowop era – with those amazing harmonies- Iron and Wine’s Flightless Bird, American Mouth captures that mood too.  The feeling is romantic, nostalgic.  Simon wrote his song after he saw a photograph by surrealist Rene Magritte with his wife and dog during WWII while Germany was under the occupation.  The song’s a hypothetical of the secret longings and loves of these artists as they live in captivity and the bands Simon lists are all black doowop artists from the fifties – so the imagery is even more evocative. 

Easily losing their evening clothes,  They danced by the light of the moon
To the penguins, the moonglows
The orioles, and the five satins
The deep forbidden music
Theyd been longing for.”rene

2 responses

Leave a Reply

