Mayer Madness

I don’t know if a review is necessary, but I’m gonna do it anways.  I have to tell the truth, in the past, I spent a lot of time and money following John Mayer.  I’ll admit – I loved him.  There’s a part of me that just craves the folksy-poppy-singer-songwriter-with a guitar.  Well, not all of them.  Actually only like two.  Him and Dave Matthews.  Would Coldplay be in there?  Snow Patrol?  I don’t know.  So even though these days I try to ignore him and any press he gets – I still like his music.  I still think he’s remarkable in concert – especially if you love the guitar – I mean love it – like wanna run away with it and marry it and build a life of stringy goodness with it – which is me.  Really, don’t knock him.  The man can play and it’s beautiful.  Even my father, who hates pop music and can kill a guitar (meaning he’s one hell of a guitarist), gave Mayer a headnod.   But when I hear Mayer talk and he says something that suggests he has no real understanding of his place in the world – I get so uncomfortable.  I know arrogance is often synonymous with rockstar – but I never really love rockstars.  Common, You play a guitar – you didn’t end world hunger.  Keep perspective. 

So the new album, yea, I bought it.  And I don’t really get it.  Because it’s supposed to be his album, you know, like really his album – Produced by him and all.  And it’s supposed to be a throw back to his favorite artists – but I don’t hear them.  I’ve read reviews that said it’s like U2 or Sting or Steve Winwood – and that sounds GREAT, but then I put it on and think, “Huh?”    Occassionally a lyric grabs me.  There’s a few songs I think are worth a damn.  But overall I’m bored and occassionaly have the urge to dry-heave.  Not good.  Where’s the blues?  How do you write an album about heartbreak and not include the blues?  Common.   

Songs I Like:  All We Ever Do Is Say Goodbye  ~  Perfectly Lonely  ~  Edge of Desire

Lyrics: Don’t say a word, just come over and lie here with me
‘Cause I’m just about to set fire to everything I see
I want you so bad I’ll go back on the things I believe
There I just said it, I’m scared you’ll forget about me

So young and full of running, all the way to the edge of desire
Steady my breathing, silently screaming,
“I have to have you now”
Wired and I’m tired
Think I’ll sleep in my clothes on the floor
Maybe this mattress will spin on its axis and find me on yours

NOW, if you want to be moved – I’m revisiting Martin Sexton’s Live Wide Open album.  Knocks my socks off.

2 responses

  1. Ok, I’ve been listening for the last few days and I’m finding it more appealing. It’s not spectacular – but I dislike it less. Like I find moments in songs that I didn’t like – where I like him again – like Assassins – which is a stupid song – but minute 2:30 it gets really interesting – kind of achy – but then it gets stupid again. But it’s all growing on me.

Leave a Reply

